My Tribute to R.W. Schambach

Yesterday Brother R.W. Schambach went home to be with Jesus!  I wanted to take a moment and write about what this man of God meant to my life personally and what I have seen as a part of his impact to be on the church as a whole!

I had the honor of spending time with R.W. several times throughout my life.  Being raised a PK, you grow up around great men and women of God.  My grandfather, H.R. Bagwell and R.W. had a good relationship and did several ministry events together.  My father had R.W. Schambach into our church, Word of Life, in Denver and we saw the power of God move in a mighty way.  But Brother Schambach had an extremely important part in my life as he did with so many thousands.

The year was 2007 and I was at a point in my ministry when I wanted MORE!  Have you ever been there?  To a place where what you have been doing for God wasn’t enough?  This was where I was at and I was in constant prayer asking God to use me for His glory and use me to see great supernatural miracles!

Brother Schambach was in the Navy and I remember him telling me the story of his first sermons were on the gun platforms on the large destroyer ships.   He fought in WWII and from these gun platforms he would preach the saving message of Jesus to the many navy soldiers that would listen.  Later in his life he traveled with the great A.A. Allen and became brother Allen’s right hand man.  I have many videos of brother Allen praying for the sick and R.W. praying with him and standing right next to him as people with cancer were healed instantly, blind people saw immediately, the deaf began to hear, and the lame would get up and walk.  Of course this was the launching pad for R.W. and he launched out to touch a hurting world with the healing power of Jesus!

All of these stories, videos and testimonies put a fire in my spirit to do the same for my generation, and in 2007 something miraculous happened!  One of my mentors, Pastor Peter Doseck, had been talking with me about my dreams for ministry when he invited me to one of his great international crusades.  I had never been overseas with the exception of one trip to Rome and Pastor Doseck asked if I wanted to join him and Brother R.W. Schambach as they reached the nation of Kenya!  I was thrilled and as I prayed and my wife and I talked, we decided that this was from God and I went!  It was on this trip that God would change my life forever!

I remember going and wanting brother Schambach to lay his hands on me and every day of the trip I never had the opportunity.  It was the final day before we were to travel home and I saw R.W. sitting in the lobby of this hotel.  My heart was pumping as I felt the Holy Spirit say, “Now is your chance, go ask him to pray for you!”  There were so many people around but I swallowed my pride and went up to him and said, “Brother Schambach, I came on this trip for one reason, I want you to pray over me and bless me!” Immediately I dropped to my knees in front of everyone and submitted myself to him for prayer.  I’ll never forget him looking at me and saying, “What are you trying to do? Start a prayer line?” I said, “No sir, I just want a blessing.” He smiled and said, “As you desire, so be it!” and he laid those big hands on my head and I felt the fire of God stirred in my spirit!  When I got up I said, “Thank you!” and turned around to see a line of about 20 people in the newly formed prayer line:)

It was on that trip that God spoke to me about going to the nations.  It was on that trip that God put the dream in my heart for building a church.  It was on that trip that a new boldness came over me and I began to step out in faith to pray for the sick and travel across the earth.  In only a short period of time I have seen God use me and the teams I take witness countless healings/miracles, see over 25,000 people saved and I have now traveled to more than 20 countries!

God CAN use YOU!  God WANTS to use YOU!  All we need is to believe it!

Since that trip I had a few more encounters with R.W. and had the honor of pouring into his staff and spending personal time with him at his home in 2010.  He lived a life of honor, integrity and faith! WOW!

Thank you R.W. Schambach for your faith and example of life that finished the race!  I will be forever grateful until I see you in Heaven someday!

If Brother Schambach had an impact on your life, share it here!  Let all who read be blessed by this awesome Man of God’s legacy!

In Christ,

Pastor Aaron Bagwell

13 thoughts on “My Tribute to R.W. Schambach

  1. PASTOR ARON…MY WHAT A POWERFUL ACCOUNT OF YOUR LIFE, FRIENDSHIP AND MINISTRY WITH R W SCHAMBACH! YOU WE’RE BLESSED!

    I TOO WAS BLESSED TO KNOW YOUR FATHER TIM BAGWELL,(AS A BOY) AND YOUR GRANDFATHER…PASTOR H.R. BAGWELL, WHEN HE WAS IN SAN FRANCISCO, CALIF.
    (HE WAS TRULY A PASTORS PASTOR)

    IN MY TEENS, THRU ABOUT AGE 20, MY DAD (BUFORD DOWELL SR) HELD 21 REVIVALS
    AT THE S.F. REVIVAL CENTER. I ALSO WAS THEIR AS ORGANIST AND SINGER, WITH RAY
    “SLIM” BOATRIGHT! MY WHAT GLORIOUS TIMES WE HAD…WHEN THE HOLY GHOST POWER WOULD FALL…AND MULTITUDES WOULD BE SAVED, HEALED, AND FILLED WITH THE HOLY GHOST!

    NOW OUR BRO. SCHAMBACH (FIRST MET HIM IN 57, WHEN WE BOTH WORKED WITH BRO. ALLEN)..HAS RECEIVED HIS PRIZE! WHAT A MAN! WHAT A MESSAGE! WHAT A JESUS!!

    TAKE THE IMPARTATIONS YOU HAVE RECEIVED FROM ALL THESE GREAT CHAMPIONS OF GOD..AND “BREAK THE DEVILS BACK!”

    SET THE NATIONS ABLAZE…WITH A “FIRE-STORM” OF THE HOLY GHOST POWER OF GOD..AND SIGNS! WONDERS! AND MIRACLES!

    GO WITH GOD!…IN CHRIST NAME!…….AMEN

    ROM 8:

  2. Pastor Aaron, your testimony truly touched and blessed me this morning! Your life is part of the harvest from the too many to count seeds RW sowed in his lifetime here on earth! As God’s word say’s Be fruitful and multiply as you sow the seeds of God’s Love, Blessings and Word into the souls of the nations!

    May the Lord Bless and keep you, your family and the teams you take with you as you minister The Gospel of The Lord Jesus Christ!!

  3. You don’t have any problems… All you need is faith in God!!!!!

    Have a great time in Heaven RW you will be missed!!!!

  4. Pastor Aaron,

    Thank you for the beautiful testimony of your experiences with RW Shambach. When I was privileged to travel on staff at Morris Cerullo World Evangelism I too was blessed with several precious opportunities to share with and be blessed by that awesome man of God personally, but I have one especially favorite memory:

    At an MCWE World Conference where he had just finished speaking, I happened to look down from the mezzanine of the host hotel one afternoon as Brother Shambach was walking through the hotel lobby to go to lunch. As he wandered through (not rushing through or trying to remain isolated and private), there was a polite contingency of partners following along with him – some calling out their “thank you”s and “God bless you”s and just following peacefully along as though being swept along in the anointing that flowed from him. Others quietly approached and asked for prayer and, without ever stopping and creating a scene, he sweetly laid hands on them, prayed and continued slowly crossing the open space of the lobby.

    As I watched I heard the Lord speak to my spirit and say “This is what is was like when I walked along the beach at Galilee.” Then I saw Jesus himself in the spirit walking next to Brother Shambach and putting His hand on those whom Brother Shambach touched. I realized I was seeing the most awesome example I have ever seen (in many years of experience with some highly anointed men and women of God) of the pure love of Jesus flowing through one of His anointed servants.

    RW Shambach was truly someone who walked in the love and power of the anointing. Those who have received from God through him should be very grateful to the Lord for the experience.

    I thank God that this precious servant has now heard His “Well done, good and faithful servant,” and has entered into His rest.

    • Years ago in Massachusetts, I watched a crusade service on TV that Brother Shambach was having. He told the story of how a woman asked him to keep a bag of candy on his body while he preached. He said that he didn’t want to do that, so the woman asked him, “Don’t you have faith?”. Then he took the bag of candy and put it in his pocket along w/all the other cloths and handkerchiefs that people would bring for him to wear while he was preaching. After the service the woman retrieved the candy. 1 year later he saw her at a service. She asked him if he remembered her and he didn’t. She was there w/another lady. She told him that the lady with her was her sister who had been in an insane asylum w/no hope of getting out. She could get candy to her sister but the hospital wouldn’t allow clothing or anything else in, so that’s why she asked R. W. to keep the bag of candy on him. When that bag of candy reached her sister, when she touched it the demons came out, and she was in her right mind. The hospital released her. Well, then after I saw that I took a prayer cloth and put it on my body when I preached a message Sunday morning at church. After service I went to visit another Pastor’s father-in-law who had cancer. I gave him 1/2 of the prayer cloth for his body, and I gave the other 1/2 to a friend who had been injured in a car accident. THEY BOTH WERE HEALED. Thank you Jesus!

  5. I heard Brother R.W. Schambach preach at the Potter’s House and I am just so happy that I was able to experience hearing the word of God through him because he was more than inspiring but, a real living man of God! R.I.P Brother!

  6. In the early 1990′s, before we started WOLCC I had the opportunity to meet Brother Schambauch in Anaheim, CA. I was working with Brother Cerullo and my assignment was to get Brother Schambauch to his hotel room after he spoke. I’ve never met another Man of God with such love in my life…I’ll miss those big ole bearhugs drenched in his anointed sweat!

  7. I had the privilege of singing on the Praise & Worship Team when brother Schambach came to Denver many years ago and held a revival with Praise Center Church Pastor Rodriquez. It was trully old fashion power packed anointed Camp meeting. Back then he would also come to town and put up a huge tent with the saw dust on the ground and have revivals. I also had the honor when I worked at Stapleton Airport many years ago as a electric cart driver of transporting brother Schambach through the airport terminal. I was so excited to see him I shouted out I want to give you a ride in my cart! He smiled and I Praise God for those precious few moments my day of work was trully blessed. Another General in God’s Army has gone home now. Thank you Pastor Aaron for sharing this information with us. God Bless Your Ministry as you carry the torch!

  8. I know R.W”s dancing on the streets of glory I have had the honor of being at Praise Center Church under the guidance of his Student Pastor W.A. Rodriguez also a great preacher of the word and R.W visited the church on a few occasions but the stories shared by Pastor Rodriguez you really get to know the heart R.W had for the gospel and the saving of the lost souls God Bless You R.W.
    I am positive you heard the words “Well Done Thy Good And Faithful Servant”>

  9. I will never forget his ministration i watched when i was barely 13years in 1993 titled “When you wonder why” Rest in the Lord R.W

  10. Thank Pst Bagwell for that explicit exposé. The Christendom & indeed th world will miss R.W. Schambach, a great man of God. Anyway, we’ll reconnect with him in heaven where we’ll meet to part no more. Adieu, Schambach.

  11. Brother Schambach (as he was affectionately Called) was my pastor for many years when we lived in Newark, New Jersey. The church (big beautiful building) was on the corner of High Street. I remember that he and Brother Wardropp (asst. pastor) would preach such faith powering messages i was a young child then and I remember. I also remember when he went out evangelizing and eventually turned the church over to Brother Wardropp. I also remember when he and Brother Allen worked closely under the Big Tent and gene Martin sang while David Davis played the organ.

Leave a Reply

