Are We Pretending Faith?

Matthew 7:21 “Not everyone who says to Me, ‘Lord, Lord,’ shall enter the kingdom of heaven, but he who does the will of My Father in heaven. 22 Many will say to Me in that day, ‘Lord, Lord, have we not prophesied in Your name, cast out demons in Your name, and done many wonders in Your name?’ 23 And then I will declare to them, ‘I never knew you; depart from Me, you who practice lawlessness!’

Did you know that you can pretend faith? Did you know that works and power of God can move in your life but you can still lose your salvation? WOW! Every time I read this scripture I feel the humility and fear of God sweep over my soul because it brings a sober reality that salvation is not works based! Even if your works are the very gifts of the Holy Spirit, they do not grant you access into Heaven and eternity with the father.

We must remember that the gifts of the Spirit are for the receiver, not the vessel they are being given through. God is accessed through your heart and through love! 1 Corinthians 13:2 And though I have the gift of prophecy, and understand all mysteries and all knowledge, and though I have all faith, so that I could remove mountains, but have not love, I am nothing. 3 And though I bestow all my goods to feed the poor, and though I give my body to be burned,* but have not love, it profits me nothing You may have given your life in good deeds and the works of the Holy Spirit but if you lose your relationship with God and give your heart to something else, you may lose your salvation.

Only the grace of Jesus Christ grants us access into our heavenly home but grace must be accepted and responded to in dedication to God’s will. We do not get into Heaven by doing works but following the will of the father and the first will of the father is your heart must be surrendered to Him. You see many have become great men and women of God but have fallen later in their life because their heart had a new master. Jesus says it this way in Matthew 6:24 (AMP) No one can serve two masters; for either he will hate the one and love the other, or he will stand by and be devoted to the one and despise and be *against the other. You cannot serve God and mammon (*deceitful riches, money, possessions, or *whatever is trusted in).

You see I don’t work for God for my benefit or salvation, I am freely saved by Jesus, I do my works by the leading of God’s will for my life. No matter how challenging, uncomfortable, distasteful or humiliating it may seem, I am obedient because I have given my heart to Jesus and I am now a slave to Him and His desires! Look at what the Bible says about this in Galatians 1:10 For do I now persuade men, or God? Or do I seek to please men? For if I still pleased men, I would not be a bondservant of Christ

So a challenge to every believer…are we really 100% submitted to God’s will and not our own? Just because we may even prophesy, cast out demons and/or heal the sick doesn’t mean we are totally surrendered to God’s will and these works do not grant us access to Heaven! I don’t know about you but I am a slave, a bond servant of the almighty Christ. I will follow Him even unto death of my natural body as the word says in Philippians 1:21 For to me, to live is Christ, and to die is gain.

This journey is not supposed to be easy but a mission. Military men and women don’t go into a mission expecting to relax and rest but they enter into a mission with a mindset of knowing there will be many challenges maybe even unto death. If you remember this as your Christian mission then you will always walk in faith and surrender to God!

Bless you in the name of Jesus Christ! Walk in BOLD FAITH TODAY! You are God’s child and have Him on your side!

In the mighty name of Christ Jesus,

Pastor Aaron

– Posted by Pastor Aaron Bagwell using BlogPress from the iPad – http://www.aaronbagwell.org

One thought on “Are We Pretending Faith?

  1. Aaron,

    Thank you so much for you service. You and your family continue to feed my life abundantly! I love you and all your family so much. My entire life is changed because of your families ministries. Eternally Greatfull, Grady Carter

Leave a Reply

